Home » SPORTS NEWS » Kumbungu Binbiem FC beats Kasalgu Arrow Heads To Win Naa Gbewaa Charity Cup

Kumbungu Binbiem FC beats Kasalgu Arrow Heads To Win Naa Gbewaa Charity Cup

Spread the love


Division One League side Kumbungu Binbiem FC beat Kasalgu Arrow Heads 5-4 on penalties to win the first edition of Naa Gbewaa Charity Cup organized by the Dagbong Excellence Foundation.

The match held at the Aliu Mahama Stadium ended in a 3-3 draw when Kasalgu Arrow Heads failed to hold onto their 3-1 lead.

Ziblim Firdaus of Kasalgu Arrow Heads scored the fastest goal of the tournament when he converted a spot kick in the 1st minute of the match. 4 minutes later Abdul Malik Sakaara of Kumbungu Binbiem equalized through a spot kick.


The celebration was cut short when Pius Aduah restored the lead for Kasalgu Arrow Heads three minutes after the equalizer. Ziblim Firdaus completed his braze for the day by making it 3 for his side. The first half ended 3-1 for Kasalgu Arrow Heads.

Two quick goals from Ibrahim Alhassan of Kumbungu Binbiem restored hope which forced the match into penalty shootout after the match ended 3-3.

This is the second time Binbiem FC had beaten Kasalgu Arrow Heads this season after MTN FA win for Binbiem.


Naa Bapri Lamashei Naa on behalf of the Overlord of Dagban presented the trophy to Kumbungu Binbiem’s captain amidst chants from the rest of the playing body and technical team.

Ziblim Firdaus emerged the top scorer after scoring 4 goals in two matches. Christopher Buah of Steadfast FC was picked as the promising player, Yaw Osei of RTU won the Best Goalkeeper while the best player of the tournament went to Ibrahim Alhassan of Kumbungu Binbiem FC. They were all presented with trophies and cash amount of GHC200.


The Northern Regional Football Association Chairman, Alhaji Abu-Hassan Rhyzo supported with GHC200 each to the individual awards winners and GHC400 to the overall champions. He has earlier provided ten packs of bottled water to support the clubs.


In attendance were Naa Bapri Lamashei Naa, Naa Bapri Zangbalin Lana, Northern Regional Football Association, Savelugu Municipal FA Women’s Committee Chairperson, Secretary to Yaa Naa, Executive Director of Dagbong Excellence Foundation and the Media.


Certificate of appreciation were presented to deserving individuals who supported the program. Alhaji Abu-Hassan Rhyzo, Hajia Adamu Fulani, Mr Ibrahim Gagbuni, Referees, the Sports Authority, St John’s Ambulance and a host of people were presented with certificates.


The second edition is expected to come off during next preseason.


By: Musah Abdul-Rahim (0246347334)

About Author

Website Disclaimer

Sports M R News is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website. 

Send your news stories to
WhatsApp on +233246347334/+233245850932

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com