Home » SPORTS NEWS » DOL: Tamale Steadfast Fc climbs to second after a 0-1 win against Nkoranza worriors

DOL: Tamale Steadfast Fc climbs to second after a 0-1 win against Nkoranza worriors

Spread the love


Steadfast continued their good run in the league after an impressive 0-1 victory against a stubborn Nkoranza worriors side.

Coach Mohammed Gargo rotated his team after sitting current joint top scorer in the zone Alhassan Siisu on the bench. He has a balanced team with great talents, even without one the others will operate in a way that people will still be impressed.

The game ended a 0-0 draw at first half after an impressive performance from both sides. Coach Gargo wanted to get an early goal in the second half brought in Alhassan Siisu who came in to replace Ahmed Falilu to strengthen his attack. Siisu who currently has seven goals is the joint leading scorer in the zone so far. It wasn’t long when he made an impact in the game, when he thought he had gotten the lead, the referee to whistle for an offside.

But a well determined Steadfast team who has recorded four wins in their last five games, took the lead early in the second half through a corner kick from Lukman Jelil which was headed directly into the net by Mohammed Sheriff to give Steadfast the lead.

The game grew tougher and tougher as the time was running out for the home side to get an equalizer.

With the win against Nkoranza worriors, the team has now accumulated 19 points from ten games which has them temporarily occupying second position, since Real Tamale United will be playing Berekum Arsenals tomorrow at the Aliu Mahama Sports Stadium.

Coach Gargo will be happy for this results especially getting the win against a team that has upset Bofoakwa Tano by a 1-0 win at same venue on match day eight.

Mohammed Asegre won the MVP of the match, after the young right winger displayed an impressive performance in the game. He has joined a list of other forwards in their team to win the Award, after current U-20 Championship star Abdul Fataw Issahaku winning it three times and Alhassan Siisu also winning the award in their last game against Kintampo FC.

About Author

Website Disclaimer

Sports M R News is not responsible for the reportage or opinions of contributors published on the website. 

Send your news stories to
WhatsApp on +233246347334/+233245850932

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com